NOTE TO THE ATTENTION OF MS MONICA ERMOLLI PRESIDENT OF THE LOCAL STAFF COMMITTEE ISPRA-SEVILLE

Subject: Election of the new Local Staff Committee 2015-2018

Dear Ms Ermolli,

According to the internal rules of the Ispra & Seville Local Staff Committee (art. 2), the mandate of the LSC lasts three years. For this reason, the electoral process should start as soon as possible in order to allow the next Committee to be in place by the end of April 2015 (considering that the inaugural plenary meeting of the current mandate was held on 3rd April 2012).

In addition to request the launch of the General Assembly as the kick-off action of the next LSC elections, we also wish to ask your support to the use of the electronic voting system, which could be pre-empted by a late announcement of the General Assembly itself.

Among the many reasons to support the use of an electronic voting system, we wish to highlight the following:

- It is anachronistic, if not even embarrassing, to work in a research environment focused on technological innovation and still have a paper-based voting system in place;
- Ispra, the third largest site of the Commission, is the only major site still using a paper-based voting system: we believe we should aspire to be related as much as possible to modern large sites like Brussels and Luxembourg, rather than risking to be perceived as a provincial site;
- The electronic voting system is already in use since many years in Brussels, Luxembourg and EEAS: it has demonstrated in manifold occasions to be a well-functioning, trustworthy and reliable voting system;
- The use of the electronic voting system would favour a larger participation in the democratic process.

The current electoral rules (Art.15) already foresee the use of electronic voting.

Therefore, In order to allow sufficient time for the Electoral Bureau and Commission services to evaluate and implement it, we kindly ask you to launch the General Assembly by the end of January 2015.

Yours Sincerely,

Gianfranco Selvagio R&D Ispra (signed) Rogerio Peralta FFPE Ispra (signed) Sazan Pakalin U4U (signed)

Cc: C. Roques